Reviews

11 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Local Reviews

  • tim perez
    Thu May 2 2019
    sight fishing with Matt was an extraordinary experience. I appreciate his dedication to spotting BIG fish and then coaching me through the whole process of casting, playing, and landing them. that dedication paid off big time since it resulted in a 15 lb rainbow (NO bull!) it was a truly a fish of a lifetime . my only complaint is now I am ruined for anything less! 😉 still, I will be back...
  • Rich Richey
    Mon Oct 1 2018
    Fished with Matt multiple times. Simply the best guide I’ve ever encountered in my 40 years of fly fishing.
  • Fay Rogers
    Wed Sep 19 2018
    Great Guide: professional , very attentive to detail & very pleasant . Fished Paco with him; it was an enjoyable day. Absolutely would fish with him any time.
  • Casey Rosen
    Tue Sep 18 2018
    I fish with Matt on a regular basis and we always have a great time together. Matt has true passion for angling which in my significant experience is what sets great guides apart from the rest. He is totally enthusiastic and is a true student of the art, regularly building on his great body of experience with new techniques and approaches. Matt has become a friend and I look forward to many more days on the water with him. BYOM
  • Ian Edmonstone
    Sat Sep 15 2018
    Had the pleasure of fishing with Matt on Gunnion Gorge float and also at Paco - both of which were some of the best fishing we have ever had. As well as being a load of fun, he taught us sooo much. Can’t recommend him highl enough.
  • Paul Comer
    Sat Sep 15 2018
    I’ve been fishing with Matt for a couple of years and I grow more impressed every trip. The guy is absolutely unbelievable whether your in the gorge or sight fishing monster trout I’m already counting the days to the next trip!
  • Arno Grether
    Sat Sep 15 2018
    Matt is the best - fished with him over the past five years and have the scars to prove it , All kidding aside Matt is the consummate guide And is exited to be on the water as the clients he’s guiding
  • Jordan Streun
    Sun Aug 19 2018
    Matt was great, got me on a ton of fish and the biggest brown I have ever seen. Great Guide and will be returning for more trips for sure.
  • Chris Hanson
    Fri Jul 27 2018
    I've been fly fishing with Matt McCannel three times and counting (currently planning two more trips). What can I say about Matt. Wow, where do I start. I have fished with some studs but I continually learn from Matt every time we fish. Like out of the box, take my skills to the next level stuff. He has a way of pushing me like no other. In a good way....and a irritating way like only a friend will do - HAHA! The Sight Fishing trip on the Paco hunting Browns is tense and exciting. It's demanding and pushes my skills. Hunting BIG Browns will do that. The three day Gunnison Gorge Trip is absolutely the trip of a lifetime. My wife (first drift trip) and I had such an amazing time. Wow. The Rainbows are crazy strong. The Browns are full on butterballs. Yeah, we planning another trip.